View Cart

Jantar - Panisperna MIE 041


MIE proudly unveils after long gestation Panisperna, the first practically available long player by Jantar, an outer-borough ensemble historically known for their creeping strain of easy listening most often heard in empty lots and abandoned diners. Chad Laird and Tianna Kennedy have grown an experimental cover crop since 2009, gently cultivating a soil rich in ambient leaf rot and organic artworld chemical compounds. With the addition of Kirsten Nordine, Jantar began to run it through with speculative roots and melodic worms, digesting the tails of lost Euro soundtracks, and ultimately finding in drummer Kelly Rudman the crystalline lattice necessary for vertical growth... And yes, now this broad field is very much in rotation.

Panisperna shoots riffs, stalks and flowers right up out of the ground. From the waves still reverberating from Canterbury Gongs and Soft Machines, Jantar propels green, driving rock forms, and leafs out into repeating rows of complex time and growth patterns. For this first foray into rock music, Jantar has enlisted the assistance of Pigeons Clark Griffin and Wednesday Knudsen, who contribute synth and sax, respectively. Long time ally and champion Jason Meagher (No-Neck Blues Band, Steve Gunn) recorded this music at the venerable Black Dirt Studios.

- Rob Smith

Release Date - 20th January 2017

Pressing Information

A limited run of 400 LPs with d/l code.


  1. Born Without Bones
  2. Humble Moths
  3. Saint Margaret of Antioch
  4. Udolpho
  5. Oracle Repetition and Departure
  6. New Fête Galante Blues