View Cart

Pelt - Effigy MIE 015

“THE GREAT EARTHEN mounds are silent now, remnants of a past, forgotten glory. Seemingly rooted to the earth like the acts of supernatural beings, immovable on the North American landscape, they are covered over with grass and scattered here and there with trees, weeds, and shrubs. Many have suffered from the vagaries of time, cut into by ploughs, looted by shovels and picks, scarred by centuries of livestock grazing and obliterated by modern development. Major highways and interstates cut through many of them and passing motorists rarely look up from the road to ponder the mounds' ancient significance.” - Thomas S. Garlinghouse

MIE Records are unbelievably honoured to be releasing Effigy by Pelt this October 29, the first album recorded since 2007 by the acoustic-only droners. Recorded live in June 2011 in an old yoga studio in Mount Horeb, Wisconsin and a decommissioned synagogue called the Gates of Heaven in nearby Madison, the band have laid down their most accomplished and fully realised work to date. Epic in every sense of the word, Effigy is a sprawling journey through their singular plan on the musical map. Layer upon layer of droning strings melt over never-ending harmoniums which threaten to engulf you whilst peals of gongs ring out to mesmerising effect. Effigy sees Pelt reaching their blissful sonic enlightenment.

Effigy is a testament to the ancient animal shaped mounds called ‘effigy mounds’ which dot the landscape in and around Madison, Wisconsin. No one has yet managed to work out who built these creations. Over the centuries they have greatly reduced in size but still the largest can measure up to 400ft in length, and the outlines of birds, lizards, deers and bears are all clearly visible to the observer. Soil would have been carried from afar to construct these huge monuments with only crude implements to hand. The erection of the monuments would have surely have to have been carried out by practically an army of workers or inhabitants and taken a very long time to build indeed.

Effigy is released as a 2LP (and digitally) with stunning gatefold artwork by Jake Blanchard. This edition is limited to a run of 500 2LPs.

“What separates Pelt … is the willful sonic escalation from monk chant and Appalachian bowed sitar to Blue Ridge mountain grinding ear-death. … They’ve not become giants; they’ve become the mountain.” The Washington Post

1st Edition of 500 is sold out
2nd Edition of 500 with different artwork is now at the pressing plant.
All physical orders will be sent out when we receive the next pressing in April.

2LP + Digital - £16 plus postage
Digital (Lossless to 192kbps) - £7


  1. Of Jack's Darbari
  2. Wings Of Dirt
  3. Spikes Ties
  4. Last Toast Before Capsizing
  5. Ashes of a Photograph
  6. From the Lakebed
  7. The Doctor's Nightcap