View Cart

Alastair Galbraith - Cry LP MIE 017

It is with great pleasure that we can announce that MIE will be releasing Cry by the underground legend of New Zealand, Alastair Galbraith, for the first time on vinyl in March 2013.

Cry was recorded in a shed at Taieri Mouth between 1998 and 2000 and then released by Emperor Jones on CD in 2000. Alastair has always been one of the most admired yet paradoxically ignored musicians from the New Zealand underground since he first started out in The Rip on Flying Nun Records in the early 1980s. Having already worked with the incredibly talented New Zealander otherwise known as Michael Morley, it seemed natural for MIE’s next step to go on to work with Alastair on getting one of his finest records issued for the first time on vinyl.

Listening to the immensely personal and intimate Cry is like looking directly into the furthest recesses of Galbraith’s mind. Weaving the fabric of the record with guitar, violin, organ, and vulnerable murmurs, frequently reversing and inverting instruments through 4-track manipulations, Cry is at once haunting and unsettling. Alastair creates an incredibly complex mindscape with tenebrous drones, hushed lilted words and a sense of deep warmth pulling you further and further into the innermost intricacies of his world. Submerged deep within this world you start to see the faint rays of light and hope which have earned this record its place in New Zealand’s musical landscape.

Issued on vinyl for the first time in a run of 500 LPs and available digitally. Original artwork by Alastair Galbraith. Mastered by Craig Stewart.

PRE - ORDER for the 11th March.

LP - £10 plus postage
Digital coming soon (all LP pre-orders will be sent a d/l link)


  1. Bellbird
  2. Charmed
  3. Meatwork
  4. Identical
  5. Wish
  6. Green dream
  7. Full soup head
  8. From the empire
  9. In the taieri
  10. One method
  11. Koterana
  12. Lull and make it snow
  13. Forest flower